The best AI novel generator in 2026: nine compared for fiction
The best AI novel generator depends on who you want to do the writing. If you want the AI to write the whole novel, Write Book (write-book.com) writes a continuous 100 to 400 page novel from a few sentences, after you approve the plot lines, natively in 16 languages, and can print it as a paperback; Infinite Library, Story Spark, Squibler, ImagineYourBook and BookFoundry also write whole books. If you want to write the novel yourself with an AI beside you, Sudowrite and Novelcrafter are built for that. This page compares nine tools on the things that decide whether an AI novel holds together. Facts about the other eight come from their own websites, checked on 31 October 2026; we did not generate books with them. Write Book is this site's own product.
What makes an AI novel generator good
- Who does the writing: the AI writes the whole novel, or you write it scene by scene with help.
- Control before the writing starts: can you see and change the plot before chapter one is written? A story is much harder to fix after 300 pages exist.
- Continuity: does the tool keep track of names, ages, places and earlier events across chapters, so chapter twenty does not contradict chapter two?
- Length: a novel is usually 60,000 words or more. A tool that writes 5,000 words well may not hold a story at that length.
- Language: is the novel written in your language, or written in English and translated?
- What you get at the end: a file to publish, or a printed book.
Nine AI novel generators compared
Prices are each site's own, in US dollars, on 31 October 2026; check before you pay.
| Tool | Who writes | Plot control and continuity | Length | Languages | Price model | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Write Book | The AI writes the whole novel; you edit any line | You approve or change the plot lines first; chapters are written in order as one story | 100 to 400 printed pages | 16, written natively, Hebrew included | Paperback, shipped to Israel, the US and Europe | Once per book, by length; first chapter of your first book free |
| Infinite Library | The AI, from one sentence or an interview; its FAQ calls it a first draft you revise | Not detailed on its site | Up to 100,000 words | Many; right-to-left supported | Through Lulu, worldwide | Credits and plans; Pro $39 a month |
| Story Spark | The AI, chapter by chapter | Rewrite paragraphs, reorder chapters | Up to 200 printed pages | Most major languages | Hardcover, 14 countries | Dreamer $9.99 a month, plus the book |
| Squibler | The AI, from a concept and core elements | Says it keeps characters, plot and structure consistent | 200 to 300 pages on Plus | English, then translation into 80+ | Its pages disagree | Plus $29.99 a month |
| ImagineYourBook | The AI, a complete manuscript and cover | A series builder carries a story bible into the next volume | 5,000 to 120,000 words | Major languages, tested most in English and German | No, files | $29.99 a month, or $40 once |
| BookFoundry | The AI, with a separate fiction engine | A continuity check that quotes both conflicting passages | Not stated; longer costs more | 18 | No, files | $14.99 per book, once |
| Inkfluence AI | The AI, outline then chapter by chapter | A story bible for continuity | No hard limit, says its FAQ | 30 | No, files | Creator $9.99 a month |
| Sudowrite | You, with an AI model built for fiction | A Story Bible from idea to outline to chapters | Not stated | 30+, may fall back to English | No, Word files | $10 a month billed yearly |
| Novelcrafter | You, with your own connected AI model | The Codex, a story wiki that links characters, places and lore | Not stated | Any your model supports; no right-to-left | No, Word or Markdown | $8 a month plus your AI bill |
Best for a finished novel without writing it yourself
Write Book is built for one job: a long, continuous novel written from a few sentences. Before anything is written you see the plot lines and can change them, and only then are the chapters written in order, usually within one to two hours. It writes in English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Polish, Romanian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish, Turkish and Hebrew, each natively rather than translated from English. You can edit every line by hand and design the cover, then download a PDF formatted for Amazon KDP and an EPUB, or order a paperback. On your first book the first chapter is written free, so you can judge the prose first.
Infinite Library and Story Spark also write the whole book and print it. Infinite Library makes almost any kind of book, ships worldwide and adds narration; Story Spark adds illustrations and prints a hardcover. ImagineYourBook and BookFoundry write the whole book and give you files; ImagineYourBook remembers a series across volumes, and BookFoundry flags where the book contradicts itself.
Best if you want to write the novel yourself
Sudowrite says plainly in its FAQ that it is not intended to write for you: it helps you go from idea to outline to chapters, with a model it built for fiction, and helps you rewrite, describe and expand your own prose. Novelcrafter keeps a wiki of your story, its Codex, and generates text through any AI model you connect, including one on your own computer; you pay that model's bill on top. Both suit someone who wants every sentence to be theirs. Write Book does not offer sentence-by-sentence help: it writes the book, and you edit afterwards.
Best for a novel in a language other than English
Many tools write in English and translate, or say other languages generally work. Write Book writes each of its 16 languages natively and prints Hebrew right to left. BookFoundry lists 18 languages, Inkfluence AI 30, and Infinite Library supports right-to-left layout. Novelcrafter's help pages say its formatting does not support right-to-left languages such as Hebrew, and Squibler creates in English first.
Where Write Book falls short
- No illustrations: the interior is text only, and the cover is the one image.
- No hardcover and no shipping outside Israel, the US and Europe; Infinite Library and Story Spark offer hardcovers.
- It writes what you tell it and does not research; it is invented prose built on your idea.
- Dates and arithmetic can still drift inside a long book, so read every page before printing.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI novel generator?
For a finished novel written for you, Write Book (write-book.com) writes a continuous 100 to 400 page novel after you approve the plot, in 16 languages, and can print it. For writing the novel yourself with AI help, Sudowrite and Novelcrafter are built for that. Infinite Library and Story Spark suit illustrated or hardcover books.
Can an AI write a full-length novel?
Yes. Several tools write a whole novel from a short prompt, including Write Book, Infinite Library, Story Spark, Squibler, ImagineYourBook and BookFoundry. The hard part at full length is continuity, so look for plot control before writing and read the whole book before printing it.
Can I use an AI novel generator without paying?
Not for a whole novel. Free tiers exist: Write Book writes the first chapter of your first book free, Inkfluence AI's free plan covers 5 chapters, Type.ai's book tool outlines 20 chapters and previews the first, and Novelcrafter has a 21-day trial.
Can I sell a novel an AI wrote?
Most of these tools export files for Amazon KDP. Write Book gives you a PDF formatted for KDP and an EPUB, and the book belongs to you. Check the store's current rules on disclosing AI-written content.
Which AI writes novels in Hebrew?
Write Book writes the whole novel in Hebrew natively and prints it right to left. Infinite Library says it supports Hebrew layout. The other tools here do not name Hebrew.